Excursions

1) Quality requirements in the city - expectations, guiding principles and concepts
Berlin | Reclaiming the city’s historic centre in the context of today's guiding principles and needs

Berlin’s historic centre, which has its origins in the twin towns of Berlin and Cölln in the high middle ages, was damaged by war and as a result is characterised by demolition and building styles from different eras. Hallmarks of the centre include important stand-alone buildings such as the town hall of Berlin (Berliner Rathaus), St. Mary’s Church (St. Marienkirche) and the television tower (Fernsehturm) on Alexanderplatz. In the framework of the 2010 planning concept “Planwerk Innere Stadt” and related small-scale plans, the city centre will be newly structured in line with the historical layout of the city and with today's needs and ideas. A broad-based participation process was conducted last year under the heading “Alte Mitte - neue Liebe” (old centre - new love?) to create a sense of identity and give people the opportunity to play a role in shaping the city's future. The resulting citizens guidelines are now an important basis for work on the future development of the city.

Excursion duration: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm

 

2) Urban identity - appropriation by residents, visitors and stakeholders
Berlin | Tempelhof Airport and its surroundings from nostalgia and appropriation to
functional requirements

Tempelhof Airport is the largest architectural monument in Europe and has a very eventful history behind it. Constructed between 1936 and 1941 under the direction of architect Ernst Sagebiel, the building complex is still seen today as a monumental piece of national socialist architecture. The complex also became a symbol of freedom through the Berlin blockade and airlift in 1948 and 1949. The airport was used by the US Air Force and afterwards for civil aviation, however, flight operations ceased in 2008. Since then, residents, visitors and local companies have appropriated the airport as a place of remembrance, an event location and a place for creative expression. In 2010 the airport was reopened as a public park, Tempelhofer Feld, with over 300 hectares of open space. The park has become a meeting point and place of recreation which has shaped urban lifestyle in Berlin.

Excursion duration 10:00 am - 12:30 pm

 

3) Existing buildings and structures - a value to be honoured
Wustermark, OT Elstal | Maintaining and further developing the Olympic village

In the run-up to the 1936 Summer Olympics held in Berlin, the Olympic Village was constructed to temporarily house 4,000 athletes. As envisaged before construction, the village was used by the military after the games. The architect Werner March, however, attached great importance to ensuring the village had high urban design quality and open spaces. Despite its designation as an area of cultural heritage and the high level of international interest it attracts, the historic buildings are at risk of dilapidation. To conserve the village in the long term, competent local stakeholders are securing the fabric of the building taking funding opportunities into account and developing possibilities for future use.

Departure from bcc: 9:00 am | Return: 1:30 pm (Duration of excursion 10:00 am- 12:30 pm)

 

4) Governance - decision-making, participation and implementation
Potsdam | Guiding concepts, structures for decision-making and participation in the redevelopment of the city

Reclaiming the historic city centre is Potsdam's most extensive urban renewal project, which the Potsdam city council decided on 1990. Since 2010, the city has been working to restore the historical layout of the city using an integrated building planning concept. Restored buildings which define the city landscape such as the Landtag (state parliament) and Barberini Palace contrast strongly with the existing post-war architecture in the city. The reconstruction of the baroque cityscape and planned demolition of the University of Applied Sciences built in the 1970s has triggered an intense debate among city stakeholders, residents and investors. The debate focusses not only on different visions for the city and long-term decision making processes in urban development, but also on the significance attached to individual layers of history in terms of the city's identity.

Excursion duration: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm

 

5) Instruments - tools for building, urban development and heritage conservation
Dresden | Urban development from baroque to post-war modernism in the Neumarkt

The Neumarkt in Dresden has played an important role throughout the city’s history - once a symbol of European baroque urban architecture, at the end of the Second World War its centre and surrounding inner city districts were almost completely destroyed. After German reunification, the discussion on rebuilding the inner city led to the Dresden Inner City Planning Strategy (Planungsleitbild Innenstadt), which aims to restore important historic buildings, monuments and spatial divisions. In upgrading the city, Dresden is concentrating on the revival of the city centre's urban qualities: compactness, diversity and green spaces. As well as reconstructing historically valuable buildings, additional modern buildings will be constructed with the help of design competitions. Furthermore, structures that reflect other eras, such as post-war modernism, will be integrated into the plans.

Departure from bcc: 8:00 am | Return: 5:00 pm (Duration of excursion 11:00 am - 2:00 pm)

 

 

to top ↑

2nd European Congress - European cities and their Heritage
topic: The faces of history in European cities //
08./09. December 2016 bcc Berlin

Exkursionen

1) Qualitätsansprüche an die Stadt – Erwartungen, Leitbilder und Konzepte
Berlin | Neugewinnung der historischen Mitte vor dem Hintergrund aktueller Leitbilder und Bedarfe

Die historische Mitte Berlins, die ihren Ursprung als Doppelstadt Berlin-Cölln im Hochmittelalter hat, ist durch Kriegszerstörung, Abrisse und unterschiedliche Planungensleitbilder von verschiedenen Zeitschichten geprägt. Dazu gehören bedeutende Einzelbauten wie das Berliner Rathaus, die St. Marienkirche und der Berliner Fernsehturm. Im Zusammenhang mit dem Planwerk Innere Stadt von 2010 und weiteren darauf aufbauenden kleinräumlichen Konzepten erfolgt eine Neustrukturierung der Berliner Mitte in Anlehnung an den historischen Stadtgrundriss und unter heutigen Nutzungsbedarfen und Vorstellungen. Um ein Identitätsgefühl und Mitwirkungsmöglichkeiten bei der künftigen Gestaltung zu schaffen, wurde im vergangenen Jahr ein breiter Beteiligungsprozess unter dem Motto „Alte Mitte – neue Liebe?“ durchgeführt. Die dabei entstandenen Bürgerleitlinien sind eine zentrale Arbeitsgrundlage im Rahmen der künftigen Stadtentwicklung.

Exkursionszeitraum 10.00-12.30 Uhr

 

2) Städtische Identität – Aneigung der Stadt durch Bewohner, Besucher und Akteure
Berlin | Der Flughafen Tempelhof und sein Umfeld zwischen Erinnerung, Aneignung und Nutzungsbedarf

Der Flughafen Tempelhof – das größte Baudenkmal Europas – hat eine wechselvolle Geschichte erlebt: Zwischen 1936 und 1941 unter Leitung des Architekten Ernst Sagebiel erbaut, gilt der Gebäudekomplex bis heute als monumentales Zeugnis des Nationalsozialismus. Durch die Luftbrücke von 1948/1949 ist er gleichzeitig ein Symbol der Freiheit. Nach seiner Nutzung durch die US Air Force und anschließend die zivile Luftfahrt, wurde der Flugbetrieb 2008 eingestellt. Seitdem haben sich Bewohner, Besucher und ansässige Unternehmen den Flughafen angeeignet – als Erinnerungsort, Event Location und Standort der Kreativwirtschaft. Mit der Öffnung des Tempelhofer Feldes im Jahr 2010 ist die mehr als 300 Hektar große Freifläche Treffpunkt und Möglichkeitsraum geworden und prägt damit das städtische Lebensgefühl.

Exkursionszeitraum 10.00-12.30 Uhr

 

3) Gebaute Stadt – Bestand als Wert:
Wustermark / OT Elstal | Bestandserhalt und Weiterentwicklung im Olympischen Dorf

Im Vorfeld der XI. Olympischen Sommerspiele, die 1936 in Berlin stattfanden, wurde das Olympische Dorf als temporäre Wohnstätte für 4.000 Athleten errichtet. Anschließend wurde die Anlage – wie bereits im Vorfeld geplant – militärisch genutzt. Der Architekt Werner March legte dennoch großen Wert auf eine hohe städtebauliche und freiraumplanerische Qualität des Areals. Heute sind die historischen Betandsgebäude trotz der Ausweisung als Flächendenkmal und großem internationalen Interesse vom Verfall bedroht. Für einen dauerhaften Erhalt sichern die verantwortlichen Akteure vor Ort die Bausubstanz unter Einbeziehung von Fördermöglichkeiten und entwickeln künftige Nutzungsperspektiven.

Abfahrt am bcc: 9.00 Uhr | Rückkehr: 13.30 Uhr (Exkursionszeitraum 10.00-12.30 Uhr)

 

4) Governance – Entscheidung, Partizipation und Umsetzung
Potsdam | Leitvorstellungen, Entscheidungs- und Beteiligungsstrukturen in der Stadtsanierung

Die Wiedergewinnung der historischen Stadtmitte ist das umfangreichste Stadterneuerungsprojekt der Landeshauptstadt Potsdam und wurde bereits 1990 von der Potsdamer Stadtverordnetenversammlung beschlossen. Seit 2010 erfolgt die Wiederannährung an den historischen Stadtgrundriss auf Basis des Integrierten Leitbautenkonzeptes. Die stadtbildprägenden wiederhergestellten Gebäude wie der Landtag oder auch der Palast Barberini bilden dabei einen starken Kontrast zur vorhandenen Nachkriegsarchitektur. Die Rekonstruktion des barocken Stadtbildes und der damit vorgesehene Abriss der Fachhochschule aus den 1970er Jahren haben eine intensive Stadtdebatte zwischen städtischen Akteuren, Stadtgesellschaft und Investoren entfacht. Mittelpunkt dessen sind nicht nur unterschiedliche Leitvorstellungen und langfristige Entscheidungsprozesse in der Stadtentwicklung, sondern auch die Bedeutung einzelner Zeitschichten für die Stadtidentität.

Exkursionszeitraum 10.00-12.30 Uhr

 

5) Instrumente – Werkzeuge für Bauen, Stadtentwicklung und Denkmalpflege
Dresden | Stadtentwicklung zwischen Barock und Nachkriegsmoderne am Beispiel des Neumarktes

Der Dresdner Neumarkt spielte schon immer eine große Rolle in der Stadtgeschichte – einst ein Zeugnis barocker europäischer Stadtbaukunst, wurden seine Bebauung und die angrenzenden innerstädtischen Quartiere am Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges nahezu völlig zerstört. Die Diskussion zum Wiederaufbau mündet schließlich nach der Deutschen Wiedervereinigung im Planungsleitbild Innenstadt, das die Wiederherstellung bedeutender Baudenkmale und des Raumkontinuums forcierte. Mit dessen Fortschreibung konzentriert sich die Stadt Dresden auf die Wiederbelebung der urbanen Qualitäten in der Innenstadt: kompakt, durchmischt, durchgrünt. Neben der Rekonstruktion historisch wertvoller Gebäude werden mit Hilfe von Wettbewerben moderne Ergänzungsbauten realisiert und Zeugnisse anderer Zeitschichten, wie der Nachkriegsmoderne, in die Planungen integriert.

Abfahrt am bcc: 8.00 Uhr | Rückkehr: 17 Uhr (Exkursionszeitraum 11.00-14.00 Uhr)

 

nach oben ↑

2. Europäischer Kongress - Die europäische Stadt und ihr Erbe
Thema: Zeitschichten der europäischen Stadt //
8. - 9. Dezember 2016 bcc Berlin